Kalkaska County

Voters chose two incumbents and two new faces in Kalkaska County's four contested county commission races.

Incumbent Stu McKinnon, a Republican, beat Democratic challenger Jo Bullis 475 votes to 336 to keep his District 2 seat.

Republican Craig Crambell, who was appointed to the District 6 seat in May, pulled in 422 votes to beat challenger Marvin Walter, a Democrat. Votes supporting Walter totaled 355.

Democrat Kevin Stein edged past incumbent James Sweet, a Republican, for the District 4 seat. Stein received 378 votes to Sweet's 326. Sweet was appointed to the position in July.

Republican Michael Buchanan received 532 votes to beat democratic challenger Adam Parzych for the District 1 seat. Parzych received 353 votes.

Judge George Mertz will keep his position as 46th Circuit Court judge. Mertz, who was appointed to the position in January 2013, beat challenger Michael Edwards 2,763 votes to 1,371.

Write-in votes still were being totaled, but Kassi Burkam was ahead to win the lone open Kalkaska Public Schools board seat. The school district's 18-mill non-homestead tax renewal also passed.

Two Bear Lake Township officials faced a recall election, and only one will keep her job.

Republican Sue Boss lost her position as Bear Lake Township Treasurer to Shirley Havens, who ran without party affiliation. Havens received 172 votes to Boss' 159.

Republican trustee Susan Allen secured her seat with 138 votes against Democrat Laura Purtill's 81 and Robert Dixon's 121. Dixon ran without party affiliation.

Republican Dick Malott received 289 votes to beat Democrat Charles Vernon for Coldsprings Township trustee. Vernon received 218 votes.