BEULAH — The District 7 incumbent commissioner on the Benzie County Board has retained his seat and District 5 will see a new face. 

Republican Gary Sauer received 1,243 votes, while his challenger, Democrat Donald Smeltzer, received 944.  

Timothy J. Markey will fill the seat being vacated by Republican Sherry Taylor. He ran unopposed.  

Sauer, 67, was the only commissioner on the board facing an opponent. This is his sixth year on the board.  

This is the fourth time that Smeltzer, 63, has been defeated by Sauer. The two paired off in the 2014 primary when Smeltzer was a Republican, and in the 2016 and 2018 regular elections, when he ran as a Democrat. 

Sauer is a retired rural carrier for the U.S. Post Office.

Markey is retired from a career in information technology. He was defeated by Taylor in the 2018 primary. 

In other Benzie races:

Crystal Lake Township — Incumbent supervisor Dem. Amy Ferris will serve another term with 447 votes. Challenger Rep. Dean R. Michael got 375 votes. 

Homestead Township — The new supervisor is Tia Kurina-Cooley with 857 votes. Dem. Teresa Peiffer got 523 votes in that race. Rep. Karen Mallon will serve as clerk with 696 votes, beating Lib. Frank Pelky, who got 525 votes. 

Inland Township — Clerk, incumbent Rep. Rose A. Wirth will serve another term with 939 votes. Her challenger Therese Zielinski got 254 votes.  

Gilmore Township — Treasurer, Dem. Robin Rommell will fill the treasurer's post with 332 votes. Republican candidate Mary Kalbach got 201 votes. 

Blaine Township — Two trustee seats will be filled by Rep. incumbents Charles Beale, 238 votes, and Walter Rohn, 232. Challenger Eran Rhodzell got 114 votes.  

Colfax Township — Two trustee seats will be filled by incumbent Rep. Shelley Greene, with 225 votes, and challenger Rep. Gene Hoseit, with 227. Incumbent Dem. Tom Besey lost his seat with 191 votes. 

Village of Lake Ann — Two trustee seats will be filled by incumbent Christi Grant-Wagner, who got 79 votes, and newcomer Vince Edwards with 80. Incumbent Brent Loomis loses his seat with 73 votes.

Trending Video

Recommended for you