Rory Jade Price, of Northport, recently completed her master’s program in public health from the University of Michigan. She earned a 4.0 GPA during her studies.

Kiwanis Club of Traverse City recognized the following students during the week of May 7:

Lauren Wright


Lauren Wright, a recent Traverse City West Senior High School graduate, was secretary of National Honor Society and Student Senate. She received bronze and silver academic letters and the summa cum laude academic achievement award. Wright maintained a 3.80 GPA and plans to study human biology at Michigan State University’s Lyman Briggs College.

Andrew Amato


Andrew Amato, a recent TC West graduate, was a member of National Honor Society and Student Senate. He participated in cross country, Nordic skiing and golf. He received his varsity letter for cross country and Nordic skiing as well as academic honors. Amato maintained a 3.72 GPA and plans to study mechanical engineering at Michigan Technological University.

Tom Hegewald


Tom Hegewald, a recent TC St. Francis High School graduate, was a member of Gladiator Athletes in Faith and National Honor Society. He received his varsity letter in football, track and field and lacrosse. Hegewald was a student Eucharistic minister. He received the Record-Eagle Football Dream Team, Michigan High School Football First Team Academic All-State and University of Dayton Presidential Merit Scholarship honors. He plans to study business and finance at the University of Dayton.

Traverse City Central High School Career and Technical Education students earned awards at the 2019 Michigan Industrial and Technology Education Society competition. The following students advance to the state contest:

Stella Lawrence, first place for her CAD Detail Mechanical Drawing and Best of Show in Mechanical Drawing Project in the Region; Alex Schwartz, second place in CAD Detail Mechanical Drawing; Olivia Baird, third place CAD Detail Mechanical Drawing; and Alexandra Maxwell, fourth for CAD Mechanical Drawing.

The following individuals received the 2019 Outstanding Educator Award:

Aimee Cole, Traverse City West Senior High School English teacher; Becca Dymond, The Leelanau School Learning Skills Department teacher; Donna Eberle, Elk Rapids Cherryland Middle School math, language and literature teacher; Racquel Huddleston, Benzie Central High School science teacher; Flournoy Humphreys, TC West Middle School band teacher; Patrick Lamb, Traverse Bay Area Intermediate School District Career and Technical Education director/principal; Lance Morgan, TC High School principal; Stephanie Schall-Brazee, Traverse City Area Public Schools K-12 music teacher; Kristin Witt, Mancelona Public Schools early childhood director; and Trish Zamarron, Grand Traverse Area Catholic Schools religious studies teacher.

The Leelanau School students Joshua Heytler, Kelly Bertram and Matthew Stewart finished 25th in the Open Division at the 2019 Small School National Championship Tournament in May. The quiz bowl team emerged from the preliminary rounds with a 6-4 record, qualifying them for the playoffs. Heytler was recognized as an all-star for correctly answering 91 toss-up questions in the preliminaries.