Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Tuesday

July 8, 2014

Merritt Speedway celebrates fans

Auto Racing

Merritt Speedway

Merritt Speedway celebrated Fan Appreciated Night on Saturday, featuring races in six different classes.

The night’s action kicked off with Jim Williams leading the Super Late Model 4-Car Dash to the green flag. Four laps later, Chris Brindle took the checkers followed by Williams, JP Julin and Derrick Waldfogel. In the first of three heat races, Chad Finley took the win over Greg Gokey and David Hilliker. In heat No. 2, Josh Knoll carried the checkers followed by Kris Patterson Jr. and Tulick while Kevin Juusola scored the final heat race win over Dona Marcoullier and Eric Spangler. Fourteen of the 29 entrants in the Super Late Model division would take to the track to battle for three transfer spots in the “B” Main with Darron Andras picking up the win followed by Craig Foster and Scott Phillips. Pole sitter Tulick and Hilliker led the 18 car field to the green flag in the 25 lap feature event with Hilliker taking the lead and Tulick settling in to second followed closely by Kris Patterson Jr. On lap No. 4, Marcoullier took over the runner up spot and started his pursuit on the leader. As leaders approached lapped traffic on lap No. 19, Marcoullier found away past Hilliker and took over the point. Marcoullier then drove on to score his second feature win of the year at Merritt Speedway. Hilliker finished second followed by Patterson Jr., Juusola, Spangler, Gokey, Knoll, Brindley, Jordan Erickson and Joe Pomeroy.

In Hardcore Performance action, Mark Sheffield carried the checkers in the heat race followed by Bobby Liuzzo Sr. and Mike Nelson Jr. In the feature event, Liuzzo Sr. started alongside Sheffield on the front row. As the green flag dropped, Liuzzo took the lead with Sheffield a close second. As the laps wound down, Nelson Jr. took the runner up spot from Sheffield on lap No. 8. Nelson closed in on Liuzzo but ran out of laps and had to settle for a second place finish behind a very excited Liuzzo Sr. scoring his first feature win of the year. Sheffield hung on to finish third followed by Richie Sutherland, Liuzzo Jr., Garry Hammar Jr. and Dick Stout.

Text Only