Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Tuesday

December 3, 2013

Bullough repeats as all-league selection

From staff reports

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Michigan State defense led the Big Ten in virtually every category this season and that was reflected Monday on the all-league football teams selected by the coaches and media.

The 11-1 Spartans, who face Ohio State in the league championship game Saturday night, had five defensive players named to the first-team by the coaches.

The honorees included linebacker Max Bullough, a former St. Francis standout; defensive end Shilique Calhoun; and defensive backs Darqueze Dennard, Kurtis Drummond and Isaiah Lewis. Punter Mike Sadler was picked to the coaches first-team, too.

Bullough, a three-year starter, was one of 13 repeat picks on the team. He is third on the Spartans in tackles (64), tied for second in quarterback hurries (10) and third in tackles for loss (9).

Bullough, Calhoun and Dennard were picked to the media’s first-team as well.

Dennard was tabbed as the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year, while Calhoun was chosen as the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Michigan offensive tackle Taylor Lewan, named to the first-team by the coaches and media, was selected as the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year for the second consecutive season, the first conference player to earn back-to-back accolades since fellow-Wolverine Jake Long was honored in 2006 and 2007.

Wolverines defensive back Blake Countess was picked on the first-team by the media.

Three players earned awards for the second consecutive season — Northwestern’s Jeff Budzien was named the Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year, Ohio State’s Braxton Miller earned the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year honor and Penn State’s Allen Robinson claimed the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year award in back-to-back seasons.

In other Big Ten individual honors, the Wolverines’ Devin Funchess was tabbed the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year. The Buckeyes’ Carlos Hyde was tabbed the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year, Purdue’s Cody Webster claimed the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year honor, while Wisconsin’s Chris Borland was named the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Among the 12: Michigan’s Courtney Avery and Michigan State’s Tyler Hoover.

A complete list of the all-Big Ten teams is on the Scoreboard page.

Text Only

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
Facebook Is Officially A Mobile Company 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl Swim Daily, Nina Agdal in the Cook Islands Guilty Dog Apologizes to Baby for Stealing Her Toy Prince George Turns 1 and is Already a Trendsetter