Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Tuesday

April 9, 2013

Sports in Brief: 04/09/2013

BCAM’s Best hoop teams unveiled

LANSING — The Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan unveiled its postseason awards, and a bevy of area honorees were included.

In the boys BCAM’S Best All-State teams, Grayling’s Scott Parkinson and Cadillac’s Jalen Brooks were selected in Class B, Traverse City St. Francis’ Kody Kleinerichert and Boyne City’s Corey Redman in Class C, and Bellaire’s Denny Hall and Frankfort’s David Loney in Class D.

Earning special mention honors were Traverse City West’s Jeremiah Williams and Petoskey’s Erik Davenport in Class A, Kalkaska’s Caleb Gelinas and Cadillac’s Nick Paquet in Class B, Mancelona’s Brandon Dingman and St. Francis’ Damon Sheehy in Class C and Traverse City Christian’s Kris Crosby, Bellaire’s Mitch Teetzel and Boyne Falls’ Marcus Matelski in Class D.

In girls hoops, Kalkaska’s Kelli Guy was selected to the BCAM’s Best in Class B, while McBain’s Meredith Hamlet was tabbed in Class C and Gaylord St. Mary’s Kari Borowiak and Christina Smith and Bear Lake’s Emileigh Ferguson earned Class D nods.

Drawing special mention honors were Petoskey’s Kelsey Ance and Megan Tompkins in Class A, Manistee’s Annie Fuller and Emilee Kott, Kalkaska’s Tabitha Kibby and Benzie Central’s Jordan Nye in Class B, Glen Lake’s Scotlyn Brengman and Jordan Peplinski, TC St. Francis’ Liza Erickson and Johannesburg-Lewiston’s Abby Schlicher in Class C and Manistee Catholic’s Haley Doyle, Frankfort’s McKenna Kelly, Bear Lake’s Hannah Harrington, Leland’s Libby Munoz and Brethren’s Lexi Lakso in Class D.

Grouse Society Trial in Mesick

MESICK — The LeGrand Traverse Chapter of the Ruffed Grouse Society will host a Spring Fun Trial on May 5 in Mesick.

The event will be held at Thundering Aspens Hunting Preserve (4612A N. 5 Road) at 8 a.m., rain or shine.

Text Only