Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Sunday

September 15, 2013

Red Wings ready for East

TRAVERSE CITY — So long, Chicago, Columbus, Nashville and St. Louis.

Hello, Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay and Toronto.

The Detroit Red Wings are moving to a new division and a new conference, one of three teams to switch conferences in the NHL under the league’s new realignment starting this season. After spending the last 21 years in the Central Division, the Wings have switched to the new Eastern Conference Atlantic Division.

If realignment has done anything, it’s created more opportunities for Detroit to play games against Original Six teams. Chicago was the only Original Six team that was with Detroit in the Western Conference, but the move to the new Atlantic Division puts the Wings in a division with old rivals such as Boston, Montreal and Toronto and in the same conference against the New York Rangers.

The Red Wings seem to be enthusiastic about the move.

“I think it’s going to be exciting for the fans to play four Torontos, four Montreals, four Bostons, three Rangers, Pittsburghs, Washingtons,” said Red Wings general manager Ken Holland.

Besides Detroit, the other NHL teams to switch conferences were Winnipeg, which jumped to the West’s Central Division, and Columbus, which moved to the East’s Metropolitan Division. The other teams in the Metropolitan Division are Carolina, New Jersey, the New York Islanders and Philadelphia.

Winnipeg essentially created the realignment after the franchise moved back to Canada from Atlanta three years ago. It made more sense for the Jets to be in the West from a geographic standpoint, with Detroit and Columbus moving over to give the East two eight-team divisions and the West two seven-team divisions. The West’s new Central Division includes Chicago, Dallas, Colorado, St. Louis, Nashville, Winnipeg and Minnesota. The Pacific has Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, San Jose, Vancouver and Phoenix.

Text Only