---- — LANSING — Michigan hunters and anglers will see their first significant fee increase in more than 15 years under a law Gov. Rick Snyder signed Tuesday that is expected to increase revenue for improving wildlife habitats and beefing up enforcement.
The fees, which are to generate 40 percent more revenue, will kick in March 1 and include a new “base” hunting license costing $11 for in-state residents, with lower rates for youths and seniors. Out-of-state hunters will be charged $151.
The base license will pay for hunting waterfowl, migratory birds and small game like rabbits. Separate additional fees still will be levied for hunting certain species, and some of those will increase. Tags for deer will rise from $15 to $20, and the bear license from $15 to $25.
When the new fees take effect, Michigan will have 42 hunting and fishing license fees instead of the 227 it has today. The fees, which generated roughly $49 million in the last budget year, are expected to bring in nearly $20 million more in revenue.
“Everyone supported this. This was across the board in terms of hunters, fishermen, people really saying this is a good thing,” Snyder said during a bill-signing ceremony in his Lansing office, where he was joined by state Department of Natural Resources employees.