Traverse City Record-Eagle


May 1, 2014

Beach Bums arrive in TC

TRAVERSE CITY — From the Beach Bums players to the coaching staff, everyone has arrived in Traverse City.

Now the ball can start rolling on the 2014 season.

New manager Dan Rohn met with his team for the first time on Wednesday as the team begins its spring training workouts. For Rohn, the team’s arrival coincides with his own arrival to the team’s facilities at Wuerfel Park, after he spent the past two days at the Frontier League Draft.

“We just got back in from Cincinnati too, so I’m beat, but other than that I’m ready for this thing to get going,” said Rohn, who is stepping in to replace Gregg Langbehn as the Beach Bums’ skipper. “We’ll do physicals and meet with the media (today). The first official workout will be Friday.”

From there the squad will hold daily workouts in the afternoon — including an intrasquad scrimmage at Wuerfel Park that’s open to the public on May 10 — until the season begins on May 16 at Gateway. The home opener is scheduled for Friday, May 23 against Windy City. Such a quick turnaround to start the regular season puts preparations at a premium, but Rohn is confident his team will be ready to go when it’s time for opening night.

“There’s a lot of work to be done, but fortunately for us we’ve brought in a lot of veteran players and guys that we know can compete at this level so we’ve got a pretty good idea going in,” said Rohn.

Traverse City has nine players back who saw action a year ago and a handful of players who also have experience in the Frontier League. Overall, Rohn likes the make up of the team.

“We’ve got a lot of speed. We’ve got some power. We’ve got some strong arms on the pitching side of it,” he said.

The pitching staff will be mostly new, however, as Michael Devine and Vladimir Camacho are the only hurlers returning from last season.

In 2013 the Beach Bums went 55-41, finishing in second place in the East Division by one game to the Lake Erie Crushers. The Crushers then eliminated the Beach Bums from the postseason in a four-game series.

Text Only

Auto Racing News
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot