Traverse City Record-Eagle

July 23, 2013

Hirams Lightning Sprints at Cherry Raceway

Traverse City Record-Eagle

---- — The weekend’s show at Cherry Raceway in Fife Lake was headlined by the fourth visit from the Hirams Lightning Sprints. Joining them were the Weller Truck Parts UMP DIRTcar Modifieds, Pro Streets, Factory Stocks, Four-Cylinder Warriors and Crossroads Chevrolet Compacts who continued their track championship point battles.

The Pro Streets were the first feature to hit the track. The front row consisted of Tracy Skaggs and defending track championship Allen Oyer. Oyer was able to take the early advantage and would be able to hold that lead for the entirety of the 10-lap affair.

Oyer, the 20-year old Mancelona, Michigan driver earned his second win of the season in his Tri-County Sand & Stone/Chevrolet. J.J. Arbour finished in the runner up position, and Skaggs rounded out the field. Oyer also won the lone heat race.

The Factory Stocks were led out by Kevin Stricker and 2011 track champion Emery Smith for a 15-lap main event. Once the first lap was completed, Smith was the race leader. This would change on lap 4 when Smith would drop off the pace of the rest of the field, and that gave way to Stricker who took the lead and went on to pick up the win. This was the sixth win of the season for the 49-year-old from Traverse City behind the wheel of the Stricker Racing/Chevrolet. Karl McClellan picked up the second place finish. Jeremiah Woebbeking, and Smith made up the rest of the field. The heat race victory went to Smith.

The Weller Truck Parts UMP DIRTcar Modifeds held their 15-lap feature with a front row consisting of Davin Reckow and Dennis Taghon. Taghon would take the lead after lap number one. The race would see minimal interference and allow Taghon to sail on to get the win while leading the entire race.

The 47-year-old from Empire picked up the second win of the year in his Taghon’s Garage/Dirtwerx Racecar. His Brother Wayne Taghon finished second. Eighteen-year-old James Clem, Reckow and Darrell Lehn completed the field. The heat race was captured by Wayne Taghon. Reckow took the four-car dash, and Clem was the fast qualifier with at time of 15.150.

Then it was time for the 15-lap Four-Cylinder Warrior feature. Russ Carrier and Andrew Austin made up the first row. Austin jumped out with the lead in the early going. He would remain there until lap five when Arlie Cooper would fight his way towards the front of the field and take over the top spot. He would be able to hang on from there and score the win. This was the first win of the season for Cooper driving out of Honor in his Grandpa’s Garage/Saturn. He finished ahead of Jeremy who was second. Bob Craycraft, Austin, and Jim Luhtanen were the top five. Austin won the heat race.

The Hirams Lightning Sprints held their 20-lap A-Main, led out by the front row of Justin Ward and Mack Erickson. Ward jumped out as the early leader. However on lap five, during a caution he would suffer mechanical issues and be forced to leave the event. That gave the lead to Erickson, who would hold there until lap seventeen. That was when Ron Ramoy would make the stratiegic move to the outside and take lead away and go on from there to victory lane.

Ramoy picked up the win in his Double R Racing machine driving out of Traverse City. Tom Hunt finished as the runner up. Randy Plamondon, Paul Erickson, and Chuck Erickson finished off the top five. The preliminary heat races were won by Bruce Dezelski and Rusty Reyelts.

Finally, the Crossroads Chevrolet Compacts were up for a 15-lap main event. Sixteen-year-old Calvin Ingleston and 11-year-old Andrea Taghon made up the front row as the green flag went in the air. Ingleston led for the first four circuits. Then 16-year-old Ricky Wilson powered his way to the front and never looked back from there as he went on to the checkered flag. This was the Wilson’s Fifth win of the season in his Wilson’s Plumbing/Ford, based out of Williamsburg, Michigan. 2011 track champion Autumn Beeman took the second place finish. Ingleston, defending track champion 14-year old Chris Casey, and Taghon capped off the top five. Wilson and Ingleston won the heats.

This Friday, Cherry Raceway will feature a full show headlined by the return of the high-powered Auto Value UMP DIRTcar Late Models for the first time in three weeks. The Weller Truck Parts UMP DIRTcar Modifieds, Pro Streets, Factory Stocks, Four-Cylinder Warriors and Crossroads Chevrolet Compacts will also be in action.