Traverse City Record-Eagle


June 24, 2014

Military, union workers honored at races


Merritt Speedway

Military, union workers honored at races

The action kicked off with David Hilliker of Midland setting fast time during Super Late Model qualifying logging a lap of 14.140. As the green flag dropped on the Dash, Scott Phillips of Marlette slid off the top of the track in the first turn and rolled the No. 50 landing on his roof bringing out the red flag. Phillips climbed out uninjured and headed to the pits to pull out the backup car for the remaining events of the night. As the Dash resumed, David Hilliker led Eric Spangler and Josh Knoll to the checkers. In the first of three heat races, Justin Robinson scored the win over Jordan Erickson and JP Julin. Eric Spangler would find himself in victory lane in the second heat race followed by Chris Brindley and Jeremy Tulick while Greg Gokey captured the final heat race win over David Hilliker and Josh Knoll. In the “B” Main, Merv Hudson of Alger led the field to the checkers followed by Ryan Lanphierd and Steve Nieuwenhuis. In the “A” Main, David Hilliker and Chris Brindley started on the front and battled for the lead with Hilliker coming out on top. Greg Gokey wasted no time advancing to the runner up spot getting past Brindley on lap #2 bringing Eric Spangler along with him. The red flag came out for the second time of the night when Bob Hammar put the “Plum Crazy” No. 21 on its side in front of the grandstands. Bob was okay but done for the night. When the race resumed, Spangler and Gokey battled side by side for second place with Eric securing the position on lap No. 9 and starting his pursuit on the leader. As the laps wound down, Spangler pulled alongside Hilliker’s right rear quarter panel but was unable to clear David and Hilliker drove on to score the win. Eric Spangler finished in the runner up spot followed by Greg Gokey, Justin Robinson, Josh Knoll, Kris Patterson Jr., Merv Hudson, Kevin Juusola, Ryan Lanphierd and Steve Nieuwenhuis.

Text Only