Traverse City Record-Eagle


November 14, 2013

Sports in Brief: 11/14/2013

Benzie’s Kelly receives honor

TRAVERSE CITY — Benzie Central’s Asa Kelly has been named the Division 3 boys cross country Coach of the Year by the Michigan Interscholastic Track Coaches Association (MITCA).

Benzie won the state championship.

Kelly’s wife, Traci, the girls coach, was also a nominee and finalist. The Benzie girls were state runner-ups. The couple have been nominated and honored multiple times over the last six years.

Area runners earn academic All State

TRAVERSE CITY — The St. Francis girls cross country team earned academic All-State honors with a Division 4 best 3.903 GPA.

The Traverse City Central girls were ninth in Division 1 (3.886) and the boys eighth (3.798). The West boys were ninth (3.786).

In Division 3, the Manistee girls were 11th (3.639) and Benzie Central 14th (3.521). The Benzie boys were 13th (3.42).

In addition to St. Francis, Bear Lake was seventh (3.686) and Inland Lakes 10th (3.612) in Division 4 girls. The Grand Traverse Academy boys were seventh (3.460), Pellston ninth (3.284) and Bear Lake 10th (3.232).

Earning academic individual All State honors: Division 1 — Central’s Ashley Ko, Graceanne Tarsa, Joy Reist, Molly Peregrine and Kyle Dotterrer; West’s Nick Hirschenberger and Nick Amato; Division 2 — Gaylord’s Sterling McPherson; Division 3 — Benzie’s Stephanie Schaub, Rachael Peabody, Bryce Cutler, Ismael Halaweh and Jake Williams; Elk Rapids’ Logan Luckett; Manistee’s Annie Fuller; and Kingsley’s Jake Keena; Division 4 — St. Francis’ Holly Bullough and Erin McDonnell; Glen Lake’s Kaitlin Grigg and McKenna Turrill; Pellston’s Olivia Heimforth; Grand Traverse Academy’s Abby Fifarek, Aaron Kostrzewa and Dallas Hanna; Bear Lake’s Alycia Peterson, Kelly Babcock, Alyson Fink, Jordan Anderson and John Girven; Inland Lakes’ Jacob Drogowski; and Manton’s Tommy Brettschneider.

Turkey Trot, online auction set

TRAVERSE CITY — The sixth annual Turkey Trot 5K run/walk and 5-mile flier races, which start and finish on Thirlby Field, will begin at 9 a.m. on Thanksgiving day.

Text Only