Traverse City Record-Eagle


April 8, 2014

College Roundup: Motte picks up national honor

BIG RAPIDS — Ferris State junior goaltender C.J. Motte has been chosen as the national winner of the 2014 Premier Player of College Hockey Award.

The Premier Player Trophy is presented annually to collegiate athletes the fans vote as the best in the sports of baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, football, hockey and softball. A poll is released at the beginning of a sports season with a list of top athletes for fans to follow. At midseason, the poll is adjusted to include up to five additional high-performing athletes. Fans then have until the end of the season to vote for The Premier Player of his or her sport.

Motte — who played for the Traverse City North Stars in junior hockey — was joined on the finalist list by Boston College forward Johnny Gaudreau, senior forward Michael Mersch of Wisconsin, junior defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere of Union along with sophomore goalie Connor Hellebuyck of UMass-Lowell. However, Motte received nearly 93% of the final vote in earning the award.

Motte, who was also named as a top 10 finalist for the 2014 Hobey Baker Award presented to college hockey’s most outstanding player, helped the Bulldogs to the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) regular season championship in their debut season. FSU reached the NCAA Elite Eight this past season.


Adrian: Matt Zaremba (Gaylord) finished his junior year with eight goals and 22 points for the Bulldogs, putting him seventh in scoring for the 31-6 ACHA Division 1 squad. ... Forward Eric Jones (Bay Reps/TC St. Francis) had four goals and seven points for the Bulldogs’ ACHA Division 3 Gold team, which finished 13-7. ... Devyn Fitzhenry (Gaylord) was sixth in scoring for Adrian’s varsity hockey team, putting up 10 goals and 22 points in 26 games for the 19-7-1 Bulldogs. She also had a +8 +/- rating and three game-winning goals.

2 3 4 5 6 7
Text Only

Auto Racing News
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl Swim Daily, Nina Agdal in the Cook Islands Guilty Dog Apologizes to Baby for Stealing Her Toy Prince George Turns 1 and is Already a Trendsetter Train Collides With Semi Truck Carrying Lighter Fluid Kanye West Tells-All on Wedding in "GQ" Interview Tony Dungy Weighs in on Michael Sam Scarlett Johansson Set To Marry In August New Star Wars Episode XII X-Wing Revealed Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB'