Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

May 18, 2013

Education Newsmakers: 05/18/2013

- TC Central High School Freshman, Taylor Weckstein, has been named Distinguished Finalist in the 2013 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards in Michigan for the creation of her charitable organization Giving 1 Family at a Time (G.1.F.T). Taylor is the second youngest Distinguished Finalist recognized in the state. Taylor founded the organization when she was 11 to help one family at a time get back on their feet financially. Taylor also qualified for the President’s Volunteer Service Award for her countless hours serving as a volunteer. This award recognizes Americans of all ages who have volunteered significant amounts of their time to serve their communities and their country.

- Students from Traverse City West Senior High School competed with over 500 students from around the Midwest and Canada at the Mid-American Model United Nations Conference (MAMUN) held in Ypsilanti in March. The Traverse City West High School Honor Model United Nations Team won Best Prepared School Award, Highest Honors, for their eighth straight year. Forty-nine students comprising the TC West Model UN Team represented the United States, Brazil, the Netherlands, Ghana, Turkey and North Korea. Other individual, team and group awards are as follows:

Earning Highest Honors in Individual Committees were Ruby Kirby, representing the United States in the Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee; Alya Nadji, representing the United States in the Human Rights Committee; Rory Straubel, representing the United States in the Special Political Committee; Rachael Taylor, representing the Netherlands in the Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee; Liam Thomas, representing the United States in the Environmental Committee; Elizabeth Warbasse, representing the United States in the Political Committee; James Wheelock, representing the United States in the Economic Committee; and Hannah Yancho, representing the United States in the Science and Technology Committee.

Earning Second Highest Honors in Individual Committees were Molly Davis, representing Brazil in the Science and Technology Committee; Sean Hall, representing Brazil in the Economic Committee; Caleb Kase, representing North Korea in the Legal Committee; and Connor Mayer, representing Brazil in the Legal Committee.

Text Only

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
GMA: Dog passes out from excitment to see owner Robin Wright Can Dance! (WATCH) She's Back! See Paris Hilton's New Carl's Jr. Ad Morgan Freeman Sucks Down Helium on 'Tonight Show' Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House