Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

August 10, 2013

Education Newsmakers: 08/10/2013

n Michael T. Runstrom, of Traverse City, received a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science in North Chicago, Ill.

n Five students from the TBAISD Career-Tech Center Early Childhood Program recently competed in events during the 2013 Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) National Conference. Gold medal honors were awarded to Traverse City West senior Ciara Swartout and Glen Lake junior Olivia Wiltjer for their community action leadership initiative “Mittens for Mini Michiganders” project which successfully raised $1,700 to help provide winter mittens and hats to families in need. Buckley High School senior Kimberly Schmidt was awarded a Silver medal in the Job Interview category through the development of a professional portfolio and success in on-the-spot interviews with a panel judges. Elk Rapids senior Monica Jarvis received a Silver medal in the Early Childhood category. Grand Traverse Academy junior Emalee Hurst received a Bronze medal in Early Childhood.

n Kirtland Community College recognized the following students on its Dean’s List for the 2012-13 winter semester: Amber Bermejo, Jonathan Burke and Benjamin Ching, of Gaylord, Andrea Dunckley, of Frederic, Brian Glezman, of Gaylord, Henry Grimes, of Afton, Stephanie Hansen, of Grayling, Dennis Hodges, of Gaylord, Natasha Kappers, of Grayling, Kevin Kissinger, of Boyne City, Brittany Menard, of Gaylord, Amanda Murray, of Grayling, Ryan Osika, of Petoskey, Kathleen Rogers and Heather Ruddy, of Grayling, Peter Rupinski, of Ellsworth, Katrina Schultz, of Grayling, Terrence Sterzer, of Cedar, LyAnn Streifel, of Gaylord, Forrest Williams, of Vanderbilt, Cynthia Wilson, of Gaylord, Scott Woutersz, of Grayling, Renee Baird, of Falmouth, Mitchell Baker, of Pellston, Brian Borchers and Amy Burmester, of Grayling, Andrea Caron, of Petoskey, William Cartwright, of Bellaire, Devon Dawson and Lisa DeGarmo, of Grayling, Amanda Deming and Diane Elliott, of Gaylord, Cynthia Graham, of Frederic, Betty Jo Halbert, of Johannesburg, Anita Hazelton, of Grayling, Samantha Kitchen, of Gaylord, Ashley LaFayette and Mark Lambert, of Kalkaska, Jose Marin, of Gaylord, Stephanie Marshall, of Grayling, Cody Myers, of Frederic, Michael Olson, of Grayling, Brittany Parker and Kaitlyn Percival, of Gaylord, Daniel Plumstead, of Elmira, Rachael Rajala, of Mancelona, Eric Roeder, of Frederic, Joanne Smith, of Prudenville, Jori Snedden, of Petoskey, Mikal Spreeman, of Vanderbilt, Renee Stephan, of Grayling, Robert Strachan, of Cheboygan, Daniel Trey, of Vanderbilt, Renee Wojdan, of Frederic.

Text Only