Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

July 27, 2013

Education Newsmakers: 07/27/2013

- Northeastern University, Boston, Mass., recently announced Traverse City resident Justine E. Jaffe was named on the dean’s list in April.

- Trica Martin, Traverse City St. Francis High School graduate, has been accepted to Jamestown College, Jamestown, N.D., beginning in the fall of 2013. She is the daughter of Ted and Theresa Martin.

- The Builders Exchange of Northwest Michigan awarded their first annual scholarship to Lauren Rockafellow, a 2010 graduate of Traverse City Central High School and current senior at Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo.

- Northwest Michigan Works! Adult Education Learning Lab in Traverse City recently recognized Fay Dwyer, of Traverse City, as the Northwest Michigan Works! Adult Education Student of the Year.

- Tom Raymond and Gary Raymond partnered with the Community Foundation to create the Giving JAR Scholarship. The first class of Giving JAR Scholarship recipients included four graduating seniors, Anna Garwood and Alyssa Veliquette, of Elk Rapids High School, Amelia Peck, of Grand Traverse Academy, and Dylan Burguard, Northport.

- Aaron Michael Adelsman, of Traverse City, recently graduated from Fort Hays State University, Hays, Kan., with a Master of Science in Education degree.

- Traverse City Central High School’s Black & Gold Newspaper won a Gold Award, the second highest award given in the state, at the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association’s annual spring conference. The following students earned individual awards: Katie Stanton, first place, in news story; Katie Stanton, first place, Allison Taphouse, first place, Emma Caldwell, second place, and John Minster, second place, in news analysis; John Minster, honorable mention, and Scott Hardin, honorable mention, in bylined opinion article; Miranda Winowiecki, honorable mention, and Katie Stanton, honorable mention, in feature column; Lia Williams, honorable mention, and Hayley Rozema, honorable mention, in in-depth feature; Emma Beauchamp, first place, in personal narrative; Maddi Miller, second place, and Fiona Muha, third place, in personality profile; Bryton Lutes, honorable mention, and Fiona Muha, honorable mention, in diversity coverage; Ivy Baillie, third place, and Alex Korsonn, third place, in alternative story form; Miranda Winowiecki, first place and honorable mention, in sports column; Erin Lipp, second place, in sports news story; Autumn Hilden, third place, in news/feature photo; Alexander Korson, third place, in illustration; Ivy Baillie, honorable mention, and Alexander Korson, honorable mention, in information graphic; Katie Stanton, honorable mention, Garrett Kosch, honorable mention, Hunter Kelly, honorable mention, and Alec Reznich, honorable mention, in front page/newspaper style; Erin Lipp, third place, and Bryton Lutes, third place, in story package; Ivy Baillie, first place, David Reinke, first place, Fiona Muha, first place, John Minster, first place, Ivy Baillie, honorable mention, Alex Korson, honorable mention, Scott Hardin, honorable mention, and Hunter Kelly, honorable mention, in editorial-opinion page/spread; Ivy Baillie, third place, in feature page spread; Bryton Lutes, third place, David Reinke, third place, Jeff Comerford, third place, David Reinke, honorable mention, Bryton Lutes, honorable mention, Emma Caldwell, honorable mention, and Kory Cole, honorable mention, in entertainment page/spread; Garrett Kosch, third place, and Sophie Hutchinson, third place, in photo story.

Text Only