Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

June 15, 2013

Education Newsmakers: 06/15/2013

- Jessica Abfalter, 29, of Grayling, a member of NMC’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for two-year colleges, has been named a New Century Scholar and a Guistwhite Scholarship recipient. Nationwide, 20 Phi Theta Kappa members are selected as Guistwhite Scholarship recipients based on academic achievement, leadership accomplishment and engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs.

As a Guistwhite Scholar, she will receive a $5,000 scholarship for her baccalaureate studies. She is also one of 50 community college students named as a 2013 New Century Scholar.

The New Century Scholars judges consider grades, leadership, activities and how community college students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. As a New Century Scholar, Abfalter will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

- Kelly A. (Lamb) Hirko earned her Ph.D. in Public Health Administration (epidemiology) from the University of Michigan on April 27. She graduated from Traverse City West Senior High in 1998. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan in 2002 and completed her master’s program at Boston University. She is currently at Harvard University on a Fellowship. Kelly lives in Winchester, Mass., and is the daughter of Robert J. and Patricia Lamb, of Traverse City.

- The following local graduating seniors were named Kiwanis Club of Traverse City Students of the Month: MacKenzie Norconk and Dakota Martin, of St. Francis High School, Katherine Watson and William Tolan Lawrence, of Interlochen Arts Academy, Victoria Fisher, Kailey Brooke Mattarella, Cooper Macdonell, Andrew Bruning, Allyson Schultz and Alex Gill, of Traverse City Central High School, Zach Gilbert and Natalie Dyer, of Grand Traverse Academy, Justin Rohrback, of TBA Career-Tech Center and Suttons Bay High School, Abby Emerick, of TBA Career-Tech Center and Traverse City Central High School, Micah Weesner and Shaun Lathrop, of Kingsley High School, Ryan Kuhn, Janette Guba, Emma Talbot and Brad Richey, of Traverse City West High School.

Text Only

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot