Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

March 8, 2014

Education Newsmakers: 03/08/2014

n The following area students graduated from Central Michigan University following the fall 2013 semester: Katelyn Fifelski and Elizabeth Wascher, of Bellaire; Micah Parshall, of Thompsonville; Timothy Feagan, of Boyne City; Tobi Curtis and Anne Doyle, of Charlevoix; Mari Poindexter, of East Jordan; Jaimee Cronk and John Lees, of Cheboygan; Sarah Allen and Kathryn Zill, of Grayling; Nicholas Begnoche, Brenden Behling, Katelyn O’Bryan and Alec Pappas, of Harbor Springs; Kenneth Winter, of Petoskey; Jennifer Bentley, of Interlochen; Taylor Archer, Andrea Becker, Lyndsay Bosley, Emily Buckel, Erika Climer, William Habich, Rachel Hagelberg, Jessica Holton, Carly Maki, Eric Ranke, Jennifer Terbrack and Ian Wolf, of Traverse City; Kara Ponstein and Holly Schlicker, of Williamsburg; Maria Harbour and Katherine Theisen, of Kalkaska; Jason McKisson, of Lake Leelanau; Katie Alpers and Sean Riley, of Suttons Bay; Christopher Coale, of Elmira; Rachel Cromell, Sarah Guttay, Stephanie Hunt, Austin Lawnichak, James Wagner and Chloe Wojcik, of Gaylord; Carrie Coulombe and Sarah Milbocker, of Johannesburg.

n Jessica Thomas, of Traverse City, was named to the Dean’s List at Clemson University, Clemson, S.C., for the fall 2013 semester. She is the daughter of Steve and Lori Thomas.

n The following area students were named to the Dean’s List at Olivet College for the fall 2013 semester: Nolan Nye, of Frankfort; Devin Blue, Stephen Wheelock and Allyson Schultz, of Traverse City; Haley Bazzani, of Gaylord; Jensen Aubry, of Grayling.

n Eric Ohearn, of Traverse City, graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, in December 2013.

n Karlee Hintsala, of Kingsley, was named to the Dean’s List at Concordia University Wisconsin in January 2014.

n The Grand Traverse Musicale announced the following Scholarship Awards for 2014: Aili Simpson, eighth grade, TC East Middle School, violin, $400; Madison Hertel, eighth grade, TC West Middle School, voice, $200; Carly Boerema, seventh grade, home school, piano, $100; Lauren Fleming, eighth grade, TC East Middle School, voice, $100; David Mather, 11th grade TC West, voice, $700; Greta Groothuis, 10th grade, TC Central, voice, $700; Quinlan Manley, 11th grade, TC Central, marimba, $700; Natalie Myers, ninth grade, Suttons Bay High, French horn, $700; Nicholas Suminski, 12th grade, TC Central, piano, $700; Emma Critchfield, 11th grade, TC West, voice, $500; Krista Cole, 11th grade, TC Central, flute, $500; Stephanie Long, 11th grade, TC West, marimba, $500; Bryce Cox, ninth grade, TC West, percussion, $300; Kyle Stachnik, 10th grade, TC Central, cello, $300; Sawyer Schlarf, 11th grade, TC West, Annie O’Brien Memorial Vocal Award, $500.

Text Only