Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Saturday

February 15, 2014

Education Newsmakers: 02/15/2014

n St. Mary School’s Business Professionals of America Chapter in Lake Leelanau sent 24 students to the Regional BPA competition at Central Michigan University. First place winners were: Administrative Support Team members, Christina Amalfitano, Shanna Fortner, Shayna Sumner, Hannah Weber; Digital Media Production, Chelsea Amalfitano; Fundamental Web Design, Caden Sumner; Prepared Speech, Kaelyn Tarsa; Presentation Management, Christina Amalfitano; Website Design Team members, Michael Csurgo, Mary Rexroat, Ryan Schaub, Caden Sumner. Second place winners were: Financial Analyst Team members, Stephanie Morton, Christopher Somero, Haley Tarsa, Tristan Tarsa; Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications, Christopher Somero; Keyboarding, Eric Falkiewicz; Small Business Management Team members, Emmy Alflen, Maeve Alflen, Emily Burgess, Kaelyn Tarsa; Third Place winners were: Human Resource Management, Eric Falkiewicz; Prepared Speech, Brittany Hobbins. Fourth Place winners were: Fundamental Word, Rachael Schaub; Keyboarding, Chelsea Amalfitano. Fifth place winner was: Integrated Office Applications, Ryan Popp. Students placing in the top 10 were: Fundamental Spreadsheets, Michael Csurg; Keyboarding, Mary Rexroat; Video Production Team members, Anna Perkette, Rachael Schaub, Abbie Thon; Medical Office Procedures, Emily Burgess; Entrepreneurship, Matthew Phelps; Economic Research Project (Ind.), Shanna Fortner; Interview Skills, Brittany Hobbins.

n St. Mary senior Anna Hagstrom received an Excellent rating at Solo Ensemble and will advance to the State competition.

n Sally Koop, of Williamsburg, recently achieved a 4.0 GPA for her first semester at Texas Wesleyan University. She is pursuing a degree in nurse anesthesia.

n Emily Klintworth, formerly of Suttons Bay, received the President’s Award at the Galen School of Nursing, Tampa, Fla., for achieving a GPA in excess of 3.75 for the fall term 2013.

n The Michigan Tech Alumni Scholarship Committee - Northwest Michigan Chapter (NW-MTAS) has announced that they will be awarding at least one $1,000 scholarship and two $500 scholarships this spring to local students who will be attending Michigan Technological University for the first time this school year (fall 2014). The scholarship will be awarded based on scholastic achievement, extracurricular involvement, financial need and an interview process. Applications are available in the guidance counselors’ office of all Antrim, Grand Traverse and Leelanau county high schools, Northwestern Michigan College or by contacting Tim Wolf at or by calling 231-590-4528. The application deadline is Feb. 27.

n Nathan Leigeb, of Kingsley, was named to the Dean’s List for fall 2013 semester at Lake Superior State University, Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

n Wyatt McDonnell, of Traverse City, was named on the Dean’s List for fall 2013 semester at Hillsdale College, Hillsdale.

Text Only