Traverse City Record-Eagle

Prep Sports

February 25, 2014

McCardel successfully defends Division 2 title

HARBOR SPRINGS — Carlee McCardel is now a two-time state champion.

The St. Francis sophomore defended her Division 2 ski title in the giant slalom Monday at Nub’s Nob, finishing with a two-run combined time of 50.47.

McCardel, 16, led after the first run with a 26.22.

“I knew I had to have a clean (second) run,” McCardel said. “It was tight. We were all like a couple tenths off each other.”

Houghton’s Jenna Stein was second after the first run in 26.35, but she had a mishap in her second run. McCardel closed with the third fastest time in the second run in 24.25.

“Back-to-back state championships is a great accomplishment,” said Doug White, coach of the Elk Rapids-St. Francis team. “You win that, it doesn’t matter how the rest of the day went. It was a good day.

“Carlee put down two really good runs. She was smiling afterwards — and rightfully so.”

McCardel said last year’s title might have been more exciting because “I didn’t know I could do this.” This time, though, she had pressure as the defending champion.

“I talked to my coaches and they had me look at it as not defending a state title but pursuing another one,” McCardel said. “That really helped me relax.”

Mallory Eliopolous of Grand Rapids West Catholic finished a close second in 50.71. Manistee’s Alma Brinkman came in third (50.77) and Petoskey’s Mia Ciccoretti fourth (51.04). Also finishing in the top 10: Harbor Springs’ Tia Esposito, who was seventh (51.98), and Benzie’s Morgan Papineau, who placed ninth (52.13).

Ciccoretti captured the slalom in 1:10.92. Esposito placed ninth (1:14.78), Brinkman 13th (1:15.79) and McCardel 16th (1:16.72).

Bloomfield Hills Marian claimed the team title with 74 points. Houghton-Hancock was second (81). Harbor Springs finished third (121) and Petoskey fourth (125).

Petoskey easily captured the boys title with 41.5 points. Cadillac was second (103.5). The Vikings were followed by East Grand Rapids (135) and Elk Rapids-St. Francis (138).

Text Only

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
Bill Murray Continues To Be Just Bill Murray By Eating Some Free Bill Murray Ice Cream Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Hillary Clinton Blamed Bill's Affair With Monica Lewinsky On Abuse He Suffered As A Child 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl