Traverse City Record-Eagle

Archive: Monday

June 17, 2013

Lalonde, Rokos winners at Cherry Raceway

A full show was what awaited fans as they packed the facilities of the fast 3/8ths (0.375) of a mile high banked dirt oval Friday at Cherry Raceway in Fife Lake.

The Pro Streets were the first main event of the evening, going 15-laps. Bob Green — the champion in 1999 — and Kevin Newberry started on the front row. Newberry jumped out front early as the race leader. However on the very next time around Green would manage to get to the lead and would stay there for the duration of the feature.

This was the third victory of the year for the Fife Lake driver in his Olson’s Auto Body/Chevrolet. Newberry finished second, defending track champion Allen Oyer, and John Hittle made up the rest of the top five. Green also won the heat.

Next it was the Factory Stocks taking to their 15-lap feature event. Kevin Stricker and 2011 track champion Emery Smith brought the field to the green flag. Smith would jump out to the early lead, and would hang on until lap 10. That would be when Stricker would fight his way up front and take the top spot away and go on to victory lane.

This was the third win of the year in as many nights for the Traverse City native, in his Stricker Racing / Chevrolet. Karl McClellan finished second, Smith was third, Nick Crim, and Jeremiah Woebbeking rounded out the top five. Smith was the winner of the heat race.

The Weller Truck Parts UMP Modifieds were out next in a 15-lap feature. Dennis Taghon and Davin Reckow made up the front row. After the start it would be Taghon that would pull away as the leader. He would lead for a majority of the race, until on lap 13 2011 track champion Joe Rokos found his way to the lead and would go on to victory.

Text Only

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Associated Press Video
What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad