Traverse City Record-Eagle


April 10, 2014

Competition for state seat heats up

TRAVERSE CITY — Two more hopefuls joined the Republican race for Grand Traverse County’s 104th state House seat, pushing the declared list of candidates to five.

Beau Vore, 30, and Isaiah Wunsch, 27, threw their hats into the ring this month when they filed notices with the county clerk to run for state office.

Others running for the same seat include Karen Renny, 67, a retired nurse turned volunteer and activist; Larry Inman, 59, a Grand Traverse County commissioner; and Robert Hentschel, 35, a former county commissioner.

The five will vie to replace term-limited Rep. Wayne Schmidt.

There are only a couple weeks left for prospective candidates to file for the Aug. 5 primary. The deadline for Republicans and Democrats to file is 4 p.m. on April 22.

Few other local races are as competitive, at least so far. Two people filed to run for the 101st district, representing Leelanau and Benzie counties. Incumbent Rep. Ray Franz, a Republican, registered to run, as has Frankfort resident Tom Stobie, the former superintendent of the Frankfort-Elberta Area Schools. Stobie filed to run as a Democrat.

Incumbent Bruce Rendon is the lone candidate signed up for the primary to represent the 103rd district, which includes Kalkaska County.

At least two Republicans plan to run for the 105th House seat, which represents Antrim County: Michael Vickory, a member of the Oscoda County 912 Tea Party Patriots group; and Triston Cole, former chairman of the Antrim County Republican Party and a past president of Antrim County Farm Bureau. Jay Calo, a Gaylord resident and Upper Peninsula native who’s a pharmaceutical representative for Pfizer, filed to run as a Democrat.

State Reps. Greg MacMaster and Wayne Schmidt both said they would run for the state Senate’s 37th district seat, but neither has filed thus far with the Secretary of State. One Democrat, Jimmy Schmidt of Central Lake, filed to run.

No one has filed for the Senate’s 35th district seat, which covers Leelanau, Benzie and Kalkaska counties.



Text Only

Latest News