Traverse City Record-Eagle

Latest News - Mobile

April 27, 2014

104th seat is state's most contested

TRAVERSE CITY — Ten hopefuls are campaigning to represent Grand Traverse County in Lansing, making the 104th Michigan House seat the most hotly contested in the state.

The seat will be vacated by term-limited Rep. Wayne Schmidt, of Traverse City. Schmidt is running year for state Senate against fellow Republican and House member Greg MacMaster, as well as two Democrats.

Now that the deadline passed for Democrats and Republicans to register to run in the August primaries, voters in the five-county area will have to choose between multiple candidates for every state seat.

Candidates for state seats are listed below:

35th Senate District, includes Leelanau, Kalkaska and Benzie counties

Darwin Booher is a Republican from Evart. Booher is an incumbent who was first elected to the Michigan Senate in 2010 and chairs the Senate Banking and Financial Institutions Committee.

Glenn Lottie is a Democrat from Brethren who spent eight years on the Manistee County Board of Commissioners. Before he retired, Lottie was an engineer for Ford and served in the Navy during the Korean war.

37th Senate District, includes Grand Traverse and Antrim counties

MacMaster is a Republican from Kewadin. MacMaster is a former weatherman who represents the 105th House district.

Schmidt is a Republican from Traverse City who currently occupies the 104th House seat. Schmidt chairs the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, and is a former Grand Traverse County commissioner.

Phil Bellfy is a Democrat from Sault Ste. Marie and a self-proclaimed environmentalist who would dedicate his tenure to the environment.

Jimmy Schmidt is a Democrat from Central Lake.

101st House District, includes Benzie and Leelanau counties

Ray Franz is an incumbent Republican from Onekama who was first elected in 2010. Previously Franz served as the Onekama Village President.

Tom Stobie is a Democrat from Frankfort and is the former superintendent of the Frankfort-Elberta Area Schools.

Text Only