Traverse City Record-Eagle


September 28, 2013

Education Newsmakers: 09/28/2013

n The Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSTF) recently announced its 2013 cohort of Teaching Fellows, two of whom are natives of Traverse City, Cassondra Keller and Brittany O’Brien.

Keller graduated from Traverse City West Senior High School in 2008. She earned a Bachelor of Science in mathematics and chemistry from the Michigan State University College of Education in 2012. She will begin teaching geometry in the fall at Chicago Bulls College Prep, a Noble network charter school located in Chicago.

O’Brien graduated from Traverse City Central High School in 2008. She graduated from Michigan State University’s College of Education with a Bachelor of Arts in chemistry and an endorsement in chemistry and integrated science in 2013. She will begin her field internship and final year of study and hopes to secure a teaching position in the Grand Rapids area for the 2014–2015 school year.

KSTF is designed specifically to develop beginning teachers into teacher leaders. The five-year Teaching Fellowships offer support and guidance as fellows embark on the credentialing process and their teaching careers.

n Lake Superior State University student Cory Ellis is among 21 top students who will receive $1,000 college scholarships to encourage their pursuit of law enforcement/public safety careers by the professional public safety officers of the Law Enforcement Education Program (LEEP). Ellis is pursuing a degree in fire science and would like to become a fire chief or administrator in a fire department. He is a Grand Traverse Metro Fire Department firefighter and emergency telecommunicator with Grand Traverse County.

In its ninth year, LEEP has awarded some $102,000 in Dream Scholarships to students showing a demonstrated interest in public service/law enforcement careers.

n Benjamin Sattler, of Traverse City, graduated from Franklin Pierce University, Rindge, N.H., in the spring of 2013.

n The following area students were named to the Dean’s List for spring semester 2013 at Columbia College Chicago: Jesse Einhorn-Johnson, of Interlochen, Riley Huffman, Stephen Emling and Riley Billingsley, of Traverse City.

Text Only