Traverse City Record-Eagle

December 7, 2012

Festival of Trees winners announced


TRAVERSE CITY — The Zonta Club of Traverse City recently announced the winners of its Festival of Trees decorating contest.

Thirty-seven professionally decorated Christmas trees were judged in three categories: Natural, Whimsical and Traditional/Elegant. There also was a People's Choice award, with every festival attendee invited to cast a vote for their favorite. The professional trees were judged by Wendy Buhr-Dorman of Ella's Fashions and Furnishings, Pat Raven of Raven Interior Design and local interior designer Dee White.

Thousands of visitors attended this year's Zonta Club of Traverse City Festival of Trees held Nov. 8-11 at the Northwestern Michigan College Hagerty Center. The festival is Zonta's main fundraiser for the year. Money raised from the event goes to area nonprofits that help advance the status of women and children.

Here are this year's awardees:

n Natural Trees: first place, Deb Jackson (Mark A. Jackson, M.D.), tree name: "Pheasantree"; second place, Dorothy Korson, tree name: "Michigan Naturally"; third place, Megan Kellogg, Carrie Nunnelley, Katie Drow and Emily Douglas (Terrarium Bar ), tree name: "Traverse Tidings."

n Whimsical Trees: first place, Susan Rauser, Katie Aschim and Joanne Sanborn (Susan Soffredine Rauser State Farm Agency), tree name: "A Sweet Candyland Christmas"; second place, Peg Jonkhoff (Reynolds-Jonkhoff Funeral Home), tree name: "Peacock Passion"; third place, Meredith Hawes (Grand Traverse Metro Fire Department), tree name: "It is the most dangerous time of the year (for residential home fires)."

n Traditional/Elegant Tree: first place, Victoria Roush and Linda Homrich, tree name: "Autumn"; second place, Tony Murphy and Derek C. Woodruff (Floral Underground), tree name: "Snowglow"; third place, The Crown Residential Community, tree name: "A Winter Landscape."

n People's Choice awards for professional trees: first place, Susan Rauser, Katie Aschim and Joanne Sanborn for "A Sweet Candyland Christmas" (Susan Soffredine Rauser State Farm Agency); second place, Dorothy Korson for "Michigan Naturally"; third place, Deb Jackson (Mark A. Jackson, M.D.) for "Pheasantree."