Traverse City Record-Eagle

November 9, 2012

Area has 27 players in all-state teams

Elk Rapids and Petoskey have the most selections

From staff reports

TRAVERSE CITY — Northern Michigan was well-represented on the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association all-state teams released Thursday.

The area had a total of 27 players on the various teams, including five first-teamers.

That includes Burt Lake Northern Michigan Christian midfielder Aaron Chatfield, who was selected to the Dream Team as well a Division 4 first-team. Rockford's Dewey Lewis was Mr. Soccer.

Petoskey midfielder A.J. Hoffman was a first-team selection in Division 2, while Elk Rapids midfielder Austin McMullen and Traverse City Christian defender Paul Bump were on the top Division 3 team and Leland forward Dylan Jolliffe joined Chatfield on the Division 4 squad.

Elk Rapids and Petoskey had the most selections, with a half dozen Elks and five Northmen on the teams.

Joining Hoffman on the Division 2 team from Petoskey were senior forward Louie Lamberti (second team), senior goalie Drew Smith (third team) and honorable mention picks Evan Altman and Adam Bayer. Cadillac's Lucas Wyatt was also an honorable mention pick.

In Division 1, Traverse City Central senior goalie Colin Lesoski and sophomore midfielder Owen Stratton were honorable mention.

The Division 3 team had Elk Rapids teammates Timmy Barber and Talon Felker on the second team and Elks defender Kameron Johnson on the third team. They were joined on the honorable mention list by teammates Sepncer LaPointe and Jesse Starr and Traverse City Christian seniors Ian Spencer and Jon Tuck.

Leland senior midfielder Matt Fleis was a second-team pick in Division 4, with Bellaire junior Hunter Rowe on the third team. Honorable mention picks included Harbor Springs' John Bailey and Forrest Lundgren, McBain Northern Michigan Christian's Trevor Gernaat and Taylor Mulder, Northport forward Bill Stowe and Suttons Bay goalie Aaron Orban.