Traverse City Record-Eagle


July 18, 2013

Food in Brief: 07/18/2013

Bourbon dinner

ACME — Grand Traverse Resort and Spa will host a special bourbon dinner at Aerie Restaurant & Lounge, from 6 to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, July 23.

The dinner will pair a special menu with Buffalo Trace Bourbon selections, from Sweet Potato Steak Frites with Maple Bourbon Gastrique and Orange Pecan Aioli paired with Eagle Rare 10 Year Single Barrel Bourbon to Chocolate Bourbon Pineapple Upside Down Cake paired with 1792 Ridgemont Reserve Bourbon.

Tickets are $55 per person plus tax and gratuity. For reservations, call 534-6000.

Wine Spec awards

TRAVERSE CITY — Seven northern Michigan restaurants are honored in Wine Spectator’s newly released 2013 Restaurant Wine List Awards, which highlights the eateries around the globe that offer the best wine selections.

Blu in Glen Arbor; Red Ginger and Harbor 22 Bar and Grill in Traverse City; La Becasse in Burdickville, Teddy Griffin’s Roadhouse and The New York Restaurant in Harbor Springs; and The Rowe Inn in Ellsworth each received the ‘single glass’ award for their wine selections. The Rowe Inn was singled out to receive the ‘two glasses’ award for its outstanding wine list.

This year, 3,793 restaurants were named award winners, spanning all 50 U.S. states and 76 other countries and territories, along with 11 cruise ships.

The complete list of award winners is featured in the Aug. 31 issue of the magazine, available on newsstands Tuesday, July 23.

Front Street chef

TRAVERSE CITY — Phil’s on Front welcomes new chef Adam McMarlin.

McMarlin brings several years of culinary expertise to the position including working with ‘Chef Olive’ at the Farm House and opening The Bay Leaf Restaurant and Bistro FouFou in downtown Traverse City.

His focus is on preparing fine culinary dishes using fresh local ingredients.

Guidebook winner

TRAVERSE CITY — The Northwest Michigan Council of Governments’ guidebook, “Food Innovation Districts: An Economic Gardening Tool Guidebook,” earned a 2013 Innovation Award from the National Association of Development Organizations.

Text Only