Traverse City Record-Eagle


October 19, 2010

Education Newsmakers: 10/19/2010

-- The Traverse City Central High School Debate Team recently competed at the Mona Shores Sailor Classic Tournament in Muskegon. The final standings are as follows. Varsity Speaker Awards: Katie Stanton, second place; Gracie Fitzsimons, fourth place; Michael Payne, fifth place; Alex Gill, sixth place. Varsity Team Awards: Alex Gill/ Brandon Henton, semifinals; Michael Payne/Katie Stanton, finals. Novice Speaker Awards: Hanna Casperson, first place; Victoria Krajenka, second place; Callie Chappell, third place; Emily Cain, fourth place; Clara Trippe, seventh place; Bri Sikorski, ninth place; Maddie Morley, 10th place. Novice Team Awards: Hanna Casperson/Callie Chappell, team champions; Emily Cain/Victoria Krajenka, second place; Danny Madion/Clara Trippe, fourth place.

-- Lydia Craig, a senior at Suttons Bay High School, has been named a Commended Student in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program, conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. Although they will not continue in the 2011 competition for National Merit Scholarships, Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by taking the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

-- The following have been named Students of the Month by the Kiwanis Club of Traverse City: Stephen Town, a senior at Traverse City West High School, son of Greg and Darlene Town; Jessica Harding, a senior at Traverse City West High School, daughter of Tim and Teri Harding.

-- The following local students recently were awarded first-year or transfer student scholarships at Calvin College in Grand Rapids. Elizabeth M. Mulder and Riemer C. Praamsma, both of Cadillac; Philip A. Spitzer, of Kingsley; Linnea A. Nelson and Carissa J. Van Haitsma, both of McBain; Ashley N. Tiefenthal, of Manistee; Galen S. Whittaker, of Northport; Thomas L. Koon and Jonathan D. Nesburg, both of Onekama; Ellen J. Patenaude, Nichole M. Lally, Brittany J. Lally and Jennifer L. Parrish, all of Traverse City; Lydia H. Doublestein, of Boyne Falls; Alyssa J. Oram, of Cheboygan; Kelsey M. Neuberger, of Grayling; Nicole M. Sheppard, of Harbor Springs; Sarah J. Boor, of Petoskey; and William E. Roloff, of Charlevoix.

Text Only