Traverse City Record-Eagle

Election 2012

August 8, 2012

Leelanau County primary election results

Editor's note: Final unofficial results from all county and township races in Leelanau County.

Road Commission (pick one):

William E. Calhoun, (R): 1,097

Robert Joyce, (R): 1,613

Glen Noonan, (R): 2,144

County clerk:

Michelle L. Crocker, (R): 4,106

Drain commissioner:

Steven R. Christensen, (R): 2,963

John Joseph Richards, (R): 1,353

Prosecuting attorney:

Joseph T. Hubbell, (R): 3,203

Sara W. Brubaker, (R): 1,967

Register of deeds:

Dorothy M. Miller, (R): 3,965


Del Moore, (R): 2,201

Mike Borkovich, (R): 2,956

Mark Walter, (R): 277

County treasurer:

John A. Gallagher III, (R): 2,597

Chelly M. Roush, (R): 2,423

County commission District 1:

Stan Kouchnerkavich, (R): 288

Jean I. Watkoski, (R): 343

District 2:

Debra L. Rushton, (R): 378

James A. Schaub Sr., (R): 300

District 3: William J. Bunek, (R): 722

District 4: Tom Van Pelt, (R): 591

District 5:

Karen Zemaitis, (R): 534

Patricia Soutas-Little, (D): 152

District 6:

Clayton Ball, (R): 109

Robert Hawley, (R): 313

Bill Irwin, (R): 125

Karen Paulus, (R): 101

Carolyn Rentenbach, (D): 289

District 7: Melinda C. Lautner, (R): 417

County Road Commission renewal of 0.5 mills.

Yes: 4,441

No: 1,315

Bingham Township

Supervisor: Amanda Kohler Republican; Marian Werner, Republican.

Clerk: Peggy Core, Democrat.

Treasurer: Sandra Grant, Republican.

Trustee (two positions): Mary K. Bush, Republican; Gary McGhee, Republican.

Suttons Bay and Bingham Fire Authority: Requests renewal of 2.3 mills for three years to fund fire, rescue, and ambulance service in the two townships. The joint levy would raise an estimated $894,909 the first year.

Centerville Township

Supervisor: Leonard Kelenski, Democrat.

Clerk: David D. Wurm, Democrat.

Treasurer: Katrina M. Pleva, Democrat.

Trustee (two positions): Fred L. Peplinski, Democrat; Ronald Schaub, Democrat; James Schwantes, Democrat; George Wellman, Democrat.

Centerville Township: Requests a levy of 0.75 mills for two years to fund fire and ambulance service. The millage would raise an estimated $69,180 the first year.

Cleveland Township

Supervisor: Tim Stein, Republican.

Clerk: Jan Nowak, Democrat.

Treasurer: Taryn Daniels, Republican.

Trustee (two positions): Dan Klimaszewski, Democrat; Walter W. Daniels, Republican; William Olsen, Republican.

Charter Township of Elmwood

Supervisor: Jack Kelly, Republican.

Clerk: Connie M. Preston, Republican.

Treasurer: Debbie S. Street, Republican.

Trustee (four positions): Mary Catherine Barrows, Republican; David Darga, Republican; Terry K. Lautner, Republican; Kyle Trevas, Republican; Donald K. Gallagher, Democrat.

Text Only

2012 Election Returns

Unlimited access to
Subscribe Sign In
Find a Business
Associated Press Video
GMA: Dog passes out from excitment to see owner Robin Wright Can Dance! (WATCH) She's Back! See Paris Hilton's New Carl's Jr. Ad Morgan Freeman Sucks Down Helium on 'Tonight Show' Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House