Traverse City Record-Eagle

Election 2012

August 8, 2012

Grand Traverse County primary election results

Editor's note: Final unofficial results from county and township races in Grand Traverse County.

U.S. Senator

Clark Durant (R): 4,359

Gary Glenn (R): 746

Randy Hekman (R): 625

Pete Hoekstra (R): 6,811

Debbie Stabenow (D): 3,064

U.S. Representative

Dan Benishek (R): 10,410

Gary McDowell (D): 2,885

104th District State Representative

Jason Gillman (R): 4,455

Wayne Schmidt (R) 8,355

Betsy Coffia (D): 1,833

Joseph Sloan (D): 1,150

Probate Judge

Kirsten L. Keilitz: 4,533     

Adam Lett: 1,451      

Linda Raetz: 2,246      

Melanie Stanton: 4,539      



Bob Cooney (R): 9,570


Cheryl Gore Follette, (R): 4,591

Bonnie Scheele, (R): 6,037

Barb Willing, (R): 1,271.

Drain commissioner:

Daniel Bauer, (R): 4,672

Kevin McElyea, (R): 6,022


David G. Heydlauff, (R): 2,739

Robert F. Mitchell, (R): 6,781.

Register of Deeds:

Michael D. Farrer, (R): 3,331

Peggy Haines, (R): 7,328.

Sheriff: Tom Bensley, (R): 9,849

Joe McCarthy, (D): 2,511

Kevin Sandvig, (R): 3,234.


Gregg A. Diehl, (R): 1,949

Rob Hentschel, (R): 4,445

Heidi Scheppe, (R): 4,657

Don Wilcoxen, (R): 753.

County commissioners

District 1:

Tom Kachadurian, (R): 478

Dan Lathrop, (R): 1,739

Ross Richardson, (D): 653.

District 2:

Ellen Koenig, (R): 406

Christine Maxbauer, (R): 998.

District 3:

Herbert Lemcool, (R): 1,259.

District 4:

Neil Elmer, (R): 576

Addison Wheelock, Jr., (R): 978

Chandra M. Ross, (D): 325.

District 5:

Phil Scott, (R): 479

Richard F. Thomas, (R): 541.

District 6:

Larry C. Inman, (R): 1,534

Lizbeth Webster, (R): 727.

District 7:

Charlie Renny, (R): 1,180.

Acme Township


Steve Finch, (R):155

David Young, (R): 399

Jay Zollinger, (R) 513


Christine Bassett, (R) 844.


Connie Collett, (R): 595

Linda Wikle, (R) 479.

Trustee (four positions):

Ron Hardin, (R): 488

Amy Jenema, (R): 609

Gordon LaPointe, (R): 611

Paul Scott, (R): 505

Erick Takayama, (R): 490

Virginia Tegel, (R): 461

Douglas White, (R) 647.

Blair Township


Patrick R. Pahl, (R) 545.


Susan M. Fall, (R): 294

Mary Ellen Bristol, (D): 124

Lynette Wolfgang, (R) 335.


Brenda DeKuiper, (R) 521.

Trustee (four positions):

Stacey E. Clous, (R): 389

Betty A. Tharp, (D): 131

Cory Dean, (R): 352

Larry B. Fleis, (R): 355

Michael J. Rademaker, (R): 371

Roger E. Zeits, (R) 425.

East Bay Charter Township


Glen K. Lile, (R): 939

Leroy Strait, Jr., (R): 762.


Susanne M. Courtade, (R): 1,345


Tracey Bartlett, (R): 1,249

Levi Moore, (D): 212.

Trustee (four positions):

Matthew Courtade, (R): 922

Beth Friend, (R): 1,095

Craig Goodrich, (R): 823

Susan K. LaRose-Grover, (R): 751

Bryan K. Marrow, (R): 836

Park Commissioner (seven positions).

Write-ins: 170.

Text Only

2012 Election Returns

Unlimited access to
Subscribe Sign In
Find a Business
Associated Press Video
Tsarnaev Friend Is Convicted In First Boston Marathon Trial Guilty Dog Apologizes to Baby for Stealing Her Toy Kanye West Tells-All on Wedding in "GQ" Interview Tony Dungy Weighs in on Michael Sam Scarlett Johansson Set To Marry In August New Star Wars Episode XII X-Wing Revealed Obama: Putin must push separatists to aid MH17 probe Michigan inmates no longer allowed to wear orange due to 'OITNB' Adam Levine Ties the Knot Sebastian The Ibis Walks Beautiful Bride Down The Aisle | ACC Must See Moment NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Faces of Souls Lost in Malaysian Plane Crash 105-year-old woman throws first pitch Man Creates Spreadsheet of Wife's Reasons for Turning Down Sex 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success Rory McIlroy struggles, surges, wins British Open NOW TRENDING: Real life Pac-Man Explosions as hot air balloon crashes in Clinton DUI Driver Dragged to Safety by Officer After Walking Onto Busy Freeway Celebrities That We'd Like to Send to the Moon